

The electronic version (PDF) of this article was scanned by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Library & Archives Service.

Journal Title: Telecommunication journal

Journal Issue: Vol. 32, no. 11(1965)

Article Title: Plenipotentiary Conference draws to a close: Dr. M. B. Sarwate elected Secretary-General

and Mr. Mohamed Mili Deputy Secretary-General

Page number(s): pp. 447-448

PLENIPOTENTIARY CONFERENCE DRAWS TO A CLOSE

Dr. M. B. SARWATE elected Secretary-General and Mr. Mohamed MILI Deputy Secretary-General

The Plenipotentiary Conference now meeting in Montreux is drawing to a close. It is scheduled to complete its work after nine weeks of meetings on Friday,

12 November.

Among its important decisions, it elected a new Administrative Council which it had previously increased in size from 25 Members to 29. It also elected Dr. Manohar Balaji Sarwate of India as Secretary-General and Mr. Mohamed Mili of Tunisia as Deputy Secretary-General. A final election was for the IFRB, the number of whose members was reduced from 11 to 5.

Other major decisions included agreement in principle that the Union should have a Charter and that it should purchase the headquarters building before 31 December 1965.

ADMINISTRATIVE COUNCIL

The election for the new 29-Member Administrative Council took place on 21 October. The following countries were elected from the five ITU regions:

Region A (The Americas)

Argentine Republic	90 votes
United States of America	88 votes
Canada	87 votes
Mexico	85 votes
Republic of Venezuela	59 votes
Brazil	57 votes

Region B (Western Europe)

France	108	votes
Italy	105	votes
Switzerland (Confederation)	105	votes
Federal Republic of Germany	93	votes
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern		
Ireland	88	votes
Ireland	78	votes

Region C (Eastern Europe and Northern

Union of Soviet Socialist	
Republics	94 votes
Federal Socialist Republic	
of Yugoslavia	90 votes
People's Republic of Poland	79 votes

Region D (Africa)

Kingdom of Morocco	87 votes
Republic of Dahomey	74 votes



Dr. M. B. Sarwate, the Secretary-General elect.

(Waldis)

NEWS ...

Region E (Asia and Australasia)

Japan	102 votes
Commonwealth of Australia	90 votes
Republic of India	71 votes
Pakistan	65 votes
Lebanon	63 votes
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia	55 votes
China	52 votes

SECRETARY-GENERAL

The election for Secretary-General took four ballots on 28, 29 and 30 October. On the final ballot Dr. Manohar Balaji Sarwate, the present Deputy Secretary-General, obtained 61 votes against 54 for Mr. Jean Rouvière, the Director of the CCITT.

Born on 15 March 1910, Dr. Sarwate is a Bachelor of Science of the University of Bombay, holds the Diploma of the Indian Institute of Science in Electrical Technology and received his Doctorate of Philosophy in Radio Engineering from Liverpool University.

After having been engaged on research and development of aircraft radio and radar equipment in the United Kingdom from 1938 to 1941, he became an officer in the Technical (Signals) Radio Branch of the Indian Air Force where his work was also largely connected with radar. He rose to the rank of Squadron Leader and was mentioned in despatches.

From 1946 to 1953, he was with the Civil Aviation Department of the Government of India, from 1948 as Director of Communication responsible for the development of the Aeronautical Communication Services in Asia.

In 1953, he became Adviser, Wireless Planning and Co-ordination, in the Indian Ministry of Transport and Communication and in this position was responsible for all matters concerning wireless planning and co-ordination at national and international levels. From 1953 on he was also Chairman of the Indian Government's Radio and Cable Board. At the 1959 ITU Plenipotentiary Conference, in which he was Alternate Leader of the Indian Delegation, he was elected Deputy Secretary-General of the Union by a large majority.

NEWS...

He had previously had wide experience of international work, both with the ITU and with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), in which he was Chairman of several committees and meetings. In the ITU, he had been Chairman of the Study Group on Tropical Broadcasting of the International Radio Consultative Committee (CCIR) and was for some years India's representative on the Administrative Council, being elected to the Chairmanship of the 1958 session. He was leader of the Indian Delegation to the 1959 Geneva Radio Conference where he was elected Vice-Chairman of the Conference.

A founder member of the Institution of Telecommunication Engineers of India, of which he was elected a Fellow in 1961, he is also a Member of the Aeronautical Society of India and of the Institution of Electrical Engineers, London.

Since 1960, when he took up his duties as Deputy Secretary-General of the ITU, he has participated in a large number of Union conferences and represented the Organization at many other international conferences and meetings.

DEPUTY SECRETARY-GENERAL

There were also four ballots in the election for Deputy Secretary-General



Mr. Mili, the Deputy Secretary-General elect.

on 2, 3 and 4 November. On the fourth Mr. Mohamed Ezzeddine Mili of Tunisia obtained 81 votes against 34 for Mr. Ezequiel Martins da Silva of Brazil.

Mr. Mili was born in Diemmal. Tunisia, on 4 December 1917. A former pupil of the Ecole normale supérieure of Saint-Cloud and of the Ecole nationale supérieure des télécommunications of Paris, he was appointed a telecommunication engineer in 1946 and in 1948 joined the Tunisian PTT Administration. In 1957 he was promoted to the rank of Chief Engineer and made Acting Director-General of Telecommunications at the Ministry of PTT, in which capacity he has directed the modernization and renewal of the Tunisian telephone network, in particular by the introduction of the automatic crossbar-type system.

In recent years, he has attended nearly all the major conferences of the ITU and of its International Consultative Committees. In particular, he has been elected Vice-Chairman and is now Chairman of the Plan Committee for Africa, one of the regional committees of the World Plan Committee. He has in addition represented Tunisia on the Administrative Council since 1960 and was elected Chairman of the 19th Session in

Mr. Mili is a Commander of the Order of the Tunisian Republic and a Commander of the Swedish Order of

THE IFRB

The Conference decided that the number of members of the IFRB should be reduced from 11 to 5, one from each of the five ITU regions. At the election which took place on 4 November, the following were elected:

Region A (The Americas)

Mr. Fioravanti Dellamula (Argentine Republic)

Region B (Western Europe)

Mr. René PETIT (France)

Region C (Eastern Europe and Northern

Mr. Ivan Petrov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)

Region D (Africa)

Mr. Abderrazak BERRADA (Kingdom of Morocco)

Region E (Asia and Australasia)

Mr. Taro NISHIZAKI

(Japan)