

Journal Title: Telecommunication Journal

Journal Issue: vol. 41 (no. 11), 1974

Article Title: Opening of the Regional Administrative LF/MF Broadcasting Conference

Page number(s): pp. 641-642

This electronic version (PDF) was scanned by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Library & Archives Service from an original paper document in the ITU Library & Archives collections.

La présente version électronique (PDF) a été numérisée par le Service de la bibliothèque et des archives de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) à partir d'un document papier original des collections de ce service.

Esta versión electrónica (PDF) ha sido escaneada por el Servicio de Biblioteca y Archivos de la Unión Internacional de Telecomunicaciones (UIT) a partir de un documento impreso original de las colecciones del Servicio de Biblioteca y Archivos de la UIT.

(ITU) للاتصالات الدولي الاتحاد في والمحفوظات المكتبة قسم أجراه الضوئي بالمسح تصوير نتاج (PDF) الإلكترونية النسخة هذه والمحفوظات المكتبة قسم في المتوفرة الوثائق ضمن أصلية ورقية وثيقة من نقلاً

此电子版(PDF版本)由国际电信联盟(ITU)图书馆和档案室利用存于该处的纸质文件扫描提供。

Настоящий электронный вариант (PDF) был подготовлен в библиотечно-архивной службе Международного союза электросвязи путем сканирования исходного документа в бумажной форме из библиотечно-архивной службы МСЭ.

union activities

Visits by the Ministers of Posts and Telecommunications of Japan and of Sri Lanka (Ceylon)



Mr. K. Harada



Mr. C. Kamarasuriah

Mr. Ken Harada and Mr. Chelliah Kumarasuriah, Ministers of Posts and Telecommunications of Japan and of Sri Lanka (Ceylon), paid official visits to the ITU where they met the Secretary-General, Mr. M. Mili, on 10 and 21 June 1974, respectively.

Visit by the Permanent Representative of Yugoslavia



Mr. M. Lalović

Mr. Miloš Lalović, recently appointed Permanent Representative of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia at the Office of the United Nations and the international organizations in Geneva, paid a visit to Mr. M. Mili, Secretary-General of the ITU, on 16 July 1974.

Opening of the Regional Administrative LFIMF Broadcasting Conference

The first session of the Regional Administrative LF/MF Broadcasting Conference opened at 11 h 00 on Monday, 7 October 1974, at the International Conference Centre, Geneva, in the presence of some 350 delegates from over 100 Member countries of the ITU and representatives of international, regional and national broadcasting organizations; the Conference concluded its work on 25 October.

During the opening session the delegates elected Mr. Fritz Locher (Switzerland) as Chairman, and Mr. Vassily Shamshine (USSR), Mr. G. C. Okoli (Nigeria) and Mr. K. P. Ramanathan Menon (Malaysia) as Vice-Chairmen.

The following Committees were set up:

Committee 1 — Steering Committee

Terms of reference:

□ to co-ordinate the work of the Committees, fix the timetable of meetings, etc.

Chairman: the Chairman of the Conference

Vice-Chairmen: the Vice-Chairmen of the

Committee 2 — Credentials Committee

Terms of reference:

to verify the credentials of delegations.

Chairman: Mr. Samuel H. Butler (Liberia) Vice-Chairman: Mr. Derek C. Rose (New Zealand)

Committee 3 — Budget Control Committee

Terms of reference:

□ to determine the organization and the facilities available to the delegates, examine and approve the accounts for expenditure incurred throughout the duration of the Conference.

Chairman: Mr. M. K. Rao (India)
Vice-Chairman: Mr. P. C. M. Bouchier (Belgium)

Committee 4 — Technical Data and Criteria Committee

Terms of reference:

- □ to prepare the technical and operational criteria which will serve as a basis for the establishment, by the second session of the Regional Administrative Radio Conference, of frequency assignment plans for the LF/MF broadcasting bands in Regions 1 and 3, taking into account the following non-exhaustive list of items:
 - propagation data;
 - emission:
 - class of emission,
 - bandwidth,
 - centre frequency (channel spacing),
 - power,
 - transmitting antennae characteristics;
 - reception criteria:
 - protection ratio,
 - minimum field strength to be protected and noise;
 - shared bands.

Chairman: Mr. Jerzy Rutkowski (People's Republic of Poland)

Vice-Chairman: Mr. Jacques M'Bilo (Central African Republic)

Committee 5 — Planning Methods Committee *Terms of reference:*

□ in the light of the results achieved by Committee 4:

 to decide upon the planning methods which will serve as a basis for the





General view of the conference room

Election of the Chairman-Mr. Fritz Locher, Director General of Telecommunications at the Swiss PTT, is congratulated by Mr. M. Mill, Secretary-General of the ITU (left) and by Mr. J. M. Arto Madrazo, doyen of the Conference and head of the Spanish delegation (right)

establishment, by the second session of the Regional Administrative Radio Conference, of frequency assignment plans for the LF/MF broadcasting bands in Regions 1 and 3, taking into account the technical and operational criteria established by the Technical Committee.

Some of the points to be studied are as follows:

- planning methods (on the basis of the information supplied by Committee 4);
- synchronized networks.

Chairman: Mr. Rudolf K. Binz (Federal Republic of Germany)

Vice-Chairman: Mr. Nobukazu Morishima (Japan)

Committee 6 — Committee for Submission of Requirements

Terms of reference:

- □ taking account of the results achieved by Committees 4 and 5 and with a view to establishing a plan at the second session:
 - to determine the form in which frequency requirements to be included in the frequency assignment plans should be submitted to the ITU;
 - to fix the final date for this submission;
 - to issue any directive which the Con-

ference may consider useful for the establishment of the plan.

Chairman: Mr. Mohamed Harbi (Algeria) Vice-Chairman: Dr. Lajos Horváth (Hungarian People's Republic)

Committee 7 — Editorial Committee

Terms of reference:

□ to improve the form without altering the sense of the texts drafted by the various Committees and to combine them with those parts of former texts which have not been altered.

Chairman: Miss M. Huet (France) Vice-Chairmen: Mr. Thomas Kilvington (United Kingdom) and Mr. José Maria Arto Madrazo (Spain)

Meeting of CCITT Study Group IX



Mr. R. A. Brown

CITT Study Group L IX (Telegraph transmission quality) met in Geneva from 29 April to 3 May 1974 under the chairmanship of Mr. R. A. Brown (Australia) assisted by Mr. B. Kubin (Czechoslovakia).

A total of 61 delegates, representing administrations, recognized private operating agencies and

scientific or industrial organizations attended the meeting, which was the first

meeting of Study Group IX in the 1973-1976 period. The terms of reference of Study Group IX include telegraph transmission quality, specification of equip-ment and rules for the maintenance of telegraph channels.

A total of 43 contributions, including delayed and temporary documents, were considered by the meeting in dealing with the 14 questions entrusted to the Study Group. In view of the amount of work involved, a number of ad hoc Working Parties were established to draft replies to various questions. Consideration was also given, at the request of other interested Study Groups, to clarify the division of studies being carried out